Blogtember episode:1

While doing some research today and reading a few other blogs I stumbled upon this great idea. Emily from A Doodle Dose started doing blogtember yesterday. She got the idea from Jenni at Story of My Life. I thought this would be something fun for me to do since I haven’t been blogging very long. I am starting a day behind, but I don’t think it will be too hard to catch up!

Tuesday, Sept. 3: Describe where or what you come from. The people, the places, and/or the factors that make up who you are.

As much as I would like to say that growing up in the south has made me who I am, I know that’s not true. The people in my life have influenced who I am today.

I come from a long line of Pastor’s so I was basically raised in church. I am so appreciative for that now. I never felt like I was sheltered in a bad way or pressured to believe something. My family really taught us to walk the walk.

564100_260920737370256_1128052468_n (1)

This is my dads side of the family. My great grandmother is 90 years old and was a preachers wife for well over half of her life. She has passed down such a heritage!

600462_454882674522113_1590619726_n

Even though I do have amazing grandparents on both sides of my family, my parents obviously had the most impact on my sister and I. My parents raised us to be smart, kind to others, hard working, ambitious, and Godly.

My parents will have been married for 25 years this winter and I think they are busier than ever. My dad is following his dream and honestly he is a daily inspiration to me. He works so hard, still always has time for us, and cares for his United Youth so deeply. And I can only hope that I am as great of a mother as my mom is. She always knows the right thing to say, and as I have gotten older she has truly become one of my best friends.

222041_10150565472085363_427948_n

My parents have helped shape me into the woman I am today. They are where I come from.

Leave a Reply

