Blogtember episode:3

Thursday, September 5: Pass on some useful advice or information you learned and always remembered.

My favorite advice I have been given is: Love is a choice.

I had to do a presentation in school last year about marriage. I asked several women in my family what the secret to happy marriage was. Almost all of them told me: Love is a choice.

I personally believe this is one of the reasons that the divorce rate is so high in our country. We have been told by society that it’s all about us. We should do what makes US happy without regard for anyone else. People get divorced over one fight, or they decide that they aren’t in love with their spouse anymore.

I know that I am not really qualified to give marriage advice, I’ve only been married for 2 years. But I have watched the married couples in my family choose to love their husbands/ wives through hard times and come out happier in the end.

1Corinthians 13-

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 8 Love never fails.

This is the self-less kind of love we should have for ALL people. How would you feel if your family or friends stopped loving you every time you messed up? I know I would be miserable.

And here’s my personal advice- Laugh about it. It never hurt anyone to be happy, so get over yourself and have a little fun!

IMG_3649

One thought on “Blogtember episode:3

Leave a Reply

