Love and Marriage

This Friday instead of writing my friday letters I thought I would take it a different route. Yesterday I was reading some posts over at Gratefully Inspired and Denise posted about what she wished she would have known her first year of marriage. While reading this post I got inspired and wanted to write something similar. This isn’t really what I wish I would have known, but more like things that I love about being married.

wed2

1. One of my absolute favorite things about being married is going to sleep at night. Some days Nick comes home from work and I leave for work within 20 minutes and we don’t have any time to talk. When I lay down at night I love that Nick is there. It is our time to unwind together and spend time catching each other up on what happened through out the day. If I have had a bad day Nick is really good at cheering me up and helping me go to sleep in a good mood. I also just have a peace knowing that no matter what Nick will be there at the end of the day.

2. I enjoy getting over arguments. I would not say that Nick and I fight at all. We definitely have disagreements or spats, but we are both good at keeping our cool and not letting things get out of control. We have grown so much in the last 6 years (4 dating, 2 married) and I think we are better at communicating now than we ever have been. I’m getting better about actually voicing when things upset me and he’s getting better at recognizing when I’m upset or even preventing me from becoming irritated. I cannot stand the thought of Nick being upset with me and if I find out he is I will go to any measure to make it up to him and he is the same way for me. If we can get each other laughing there’s a good chance we will be able to air out the problem and move on. Every disagreement just makes us stronger and it helps us to see things from someone else’s point of view.

wed3

3. Being married to my best friend is amazing. Listen ladies, if you can’t see the man you’re with as a friend outside of all the romance then it probably won’t last. Trying to keep up a romance is really hard, but being married to your best friend is easy. The romance finds its way in and you make time for it as much as possible, but that isn’t the basis. If I only loved Nick for all the times we went to dinner and I got flowers we would have a major issue. Instead it’s the little things, he knows how I like my coffee, he watches cheesy movies with me, he scratches my back, or rubs my feet. Plus we could talk for hours! Still to this day if Nick and I go out by ourselves it’s so much fun to just sit and chat about everything!

4. Lastly, one of my favorite things about being married is the support. I have never lacked support from family or my friends, but there is something different about having your spouse support your passions. Nick and I try to push each other to reach our goals and fulfill the gifts placed within us! Before Nick and I had Emmerson he would always talk about how he wanted me to stay home with her and eventually homeschool her when the time came. I was totally onboard with that plan and I really didn’t want to go back to work. Then when E was about 4-5 months old I decided I needed to go back to work. We needed the extra income and I needed an outlet for myself. Nick could not have been more supportive during that time. He is home with Emmerson at night while I work and helps keep things straight around the house while I’m not there. He has helped make that an easy transition for me and I am so thankful for it!

wed4

I look forward to growing our family together and becoming even better spouses and parents! If you aren’t married I pray that you find a spouse that meets your needs and that you two will grow together with Christ as the center of your marriage. Happy weekend blog world!

Signature

5 thoughts on “Love and Marriage

  1. Gdad and Gma r so happy for the two of u. That’s how we fill about each other and so it will last fir years. Live u both much.

Leave a Reply

